Bacon-Wrapped Figs

As I am coming to the end of a week that I could only describe as “intense”, I find myself listening to Stevie Wonder and cuddling with a cat. I am trying to get up the gumption to go make something to eat, and am feeling a strangely absent of the desire to do anything.  Now nobody in the history of my existence has ever accused me (not to my face anyway) of being capable of relaxing. Somehow, doing nothing is almost rarely ever on the agenda. You can ask my perpetually bemused husband, how often I can sit through a movie without finding some other task in which to occupy myself.

I realize that even for the most high strung and task oriented of us, there are days when you just don’t – don’t have anything in the kitchen to make, don’t have time to get to the store, don’t have the energy to finagle something magical, but at the same time know you won’t be satisfied with something being delivered. We’re humans, our feelings aren’t meant to make sense all the time. Today, I think I’ve found my secret weapon for a mood like this and that hardly-hidden cure is right out there in the open… and guess what, it’s sweet, savory and easy.

As Stevie Wonder fades away and the Boss starts to fill the air, I can feel my moxie pick up. I’m not even sure this qualifies as a recipe but its doing the trick for me tonight so what the heck – let’s do this! Come to think of it, I might as well make these little darlins while dancing my tush off to some Tenth Avenue Freeze Out.

You know what? That sounds like a plan.

What you’ll need:

  • Figs – 4-6
  • Bacon – 2-3 slices, cut in half
  • Olive Oil – just a splash

Directions:

  1. Cut the figs in half and cut off the exterior. Leaving only the red jam-like center.
  2. Place the fig at the end of a half slice of bacon and roll lengthwise, similar to a taquito or flauta.
  3. Heat a tiny bit of olive oil in a frying pan over medium-high heat. Once oil is hot-ish, put in the bacon rolls.
  4. Put the bacon wrapped fig seam side down into the pan and cook for 1 minute. After which you you will roll counterclockwise to side 2. Repeat until the entire circumference has had contact to the bottom of the pan and bacon is crisp.
  5. Place figs on a plate and serve warm.

This dish is a great appetizer and can be the standout of any meat and cheese board. In this meal we served with the following: prosciutto, melon with honey and cubed babybel cheese.

Leave a Reply

