Tuna Nicoise Toast

What do other people eat when they’re on their own? Davis was out of town this week, and I found myself eating the most random assortment of things. For instance, I had an avocado and some almonds one night and rice with stewed tomatoes on another. Does an avocado and almonds even constitute as dinner?!

Feeling a bit dissatisfied on the food front, I took a look around to find what I could find to take me outside of my normal single-person food doldrums and when I saw this in Bon Appetit – I was stunned. Easy comfort for me is almost always fish on toast.  I am so ashamed I hadn’t thought of this before.

I didn’t follow the recipe to a “tee” (as I rarely do) but you can find my version below. Oh man, I am making this again.

Do I prefer my version? Of course I do, but that is the magic of a great recipe, it gives you the base to make it your own.

What you’ll need:

  • Tuna – 1 can packed in sunflower oil
  • Olives – black, pitted and roughly chopped
  • Cherry tomatoes – 1 cup, quartered
  • Red onion – 1/4 cup, diced
  • Lemon – 1 juiced
  • Egg – 1 hardboiled
  • Ricotta cheese – 1/2 cup
  • Olive oil – 2 tbsp.
  • Potato – 1 boiled, sliced and quartered
  • Salt – to taste
  • Pepper – to taste
  • Toast – white bread – 2 slices
  • Garlic – 1 clove, halved

Optional: 

  • Leeks – 1 chopped, sauteed
  1. Combine eggs, ricotta cheese, 2 Tbsp. oil, juice from 1/2 lemon in a medium bowl. Mash together until a coarse paste forms. Season with salt and pepper.
  2. Toss 2 Tbsp. oil, 1 Tbsp. lemon juice, tomatoes,  red onion and olives in a medium bowl. Gently fold in tuna. Add more salt, pepper, and juice from the last half of lemon.
  3. Rub 1 side of toast with cut end of garlic. Spread egg salad on top of each slice, add sliced potato on the egg salad and top with tuna mixture.

Leave a Reply

