Cream of Mushroom Soup

For my birthday this year, Davis bought me my long coveted The Art of French Cooking by the larger than life, Julia Child. I have had this on my Christmas list for about 5 years and at a certain point, I became determined that this must be a gift to me given to my by someone else and not something I would buy for myself. This year, I received an Amazon gift card from my father in law and decided “well heck, this is close enough” and resolved to purchase it for myself. Before I got a chance, true gem that he is, Davis had already picked me up a copy on a recent business trip in New York.

I have been dog-earring recipes to try all week. First on my list was Cream of Mushroom soup, which has been a long-standing contender on my favorite soup list. This version is definitely decadent but it made my husband, a former non-mushroom eater, actually ask for seconds. Not something Campbell’s can claim.

This recipe makes a lot for a two-person household, which is for the best considering our upcoming move. The frenzy has our household in a total tizzy, and we could benefit from some leftovers.

What You’ll Need:

  • 1/4 cup onions, minced
  • 6 tablespoons butter
  • 3 tablespoons flour
  • 6 cups chicken broth
  • 1 lb fresh mushrooms, separate the stems from the caps & chop the stems
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon lemon juice
  • 2 egg yolks
  • 3/4 cup whipping cream
  • Salt, to taste
  • Pepper, to taste

 

Directions

  1. Melt 3 tbsp. butter in a saucepan and saute the onions slowly for about 8 – 10 minutes.
  2. Add the flour and stir over moderate heat for about 3 minute without browning.
  3. Off heat, beat in the broth and blend it thoroughly with the flour. Add salt and pepper to taste. Stir in the mushroom stems.
  4. Simmer partially covered for 20 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  5. Strain mixture through a fine sieve strainer, pressing juices out of the mushroom stems. Press out as much of the juice as possible. Discard the stems and onions.
  6. In another saucepan, melt the 3 tbsp. butter. Add the sliced mushroom caps, salt and lemon juice. Cook until warn all the way through.
  7. Pour the mushrooms and their cooking liquid into the saucepan with the strained soup base. Simmer for 10 minutes.
  8. Beat the 2 egg yolks and the cream in a mixing bowl. Add to the hot soup and stir over medium heat for only a 2-3 minutes, but don’t boil. Otherwise, the egg might separate.
Leave a Reply

