Crostinis with Blue Cheese and Requesón

In my quest to try all things Spanish during my last weeks abroad, I attempted to make dishes using ingredients that I’ve not had much experience cooking with in the past (or at all; who cooks with requesón in Los Estados Unidos?!). Also, I’ve been trying to eat as many tiny dishes as I can to get my fill of European-style dining – big lunches, little dinners – before heading back to the gigantic-dish-with-an-extra-side-of-ranch-dressing extravaganza that is my motherland. 

Requesón is a Spanish cheese that I’d never heard of, to be honest, but I see it in every grocery and even a few little corner stores here. Its consistency lies in limbo somewhere between cottage cheese and ricotta, without an overwhelming flavor with a creamy/crumbly texture. Through a bit of online research, it’s also apparently low in sodium and calories, so it makes for a great diet cheese as well. Good to know. Yes – diet food. Sure.

Crostinis are, in my opinion, the world’s best appetizer. Handheld, immensely customizable with as many toppings as you can think of, and “crostini” sounds so much fancier than “little toasts” ever will. Unfortunately, I didn’t have anyone to share these little guys with, but that was probably for the best since it would have broken my heart to part with any them.

In the photos, you’ll see these little guys topped with strawberry jam, a drizzle of balsamic reduction, honey, spinach, jamón, and tomato. My hands-down favorite was the strawberry jam, but none of these would be kicked out of bed in the morning.

The benefit of a mild flavored cheese like requesón is that you can be uninhibited with your flavor pairing. As you can see, I’ve done both sweet and savory here, but I would try to stick to no more than one additional ingredient. Keep it simple and let the flavors speak for themselves.

What You’ll Need:

  • Requesón – 3 tbsp.
  • Blue Cheese crumbles – 3 tbsp.
  • Honey – 1 tbsp
  • Baguette – 1 full cut into 1’ inch thick slices
  • Olive Oil – drizzle

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 and place bread slices on a cookie sheet. Drizzle olive oil very lightly over the bread and place in the oven to toast, approximately 15 minutes.
  2. While bread is toasting, place a sauce pan on the stove over medium low heat. Add requesón, blue cheese, honey to the sauce pan and allow the blue cheese to melt into the requesón and the honey to blend together.
  3.  Remove the bread from the oven and spoon a tablespoon of cheese mixtures onto each crostini.
  4. Top with each crostini with any variety of toppings. 
2 thoughts on “Crostinis with Blue Cheese and Requesón

Leave a Reply

