Blue Cheese Biscuits

 

Let me state off the front that I don’t just use blue cheese in everything, I promise. That said, in the not-so-distant past I bought a huge wedge of blue cheese to help with a small obsession of mine. Would it be weird to say that I often have fantasies of spinach salads topped with craisins and crumbly blue cheese? Yeah, it’s weird. I thought so too.

After making all of those salad fever dreams come true, I had an obscene amount of blue cheese left over and had to find different ways to use it; I put some on zucchini, I stuffed some red peppers with it, and even melted it over apple slices for a tasty sandwich filling.  Even after making all of these entrees, I still had cheese leftover. I.am.not.a.cheese.waster. 

As I had recently acquired the Art of French Cooking, I once again went to Julia for guidance. “What should I do with this leftover cheese?” I asked her ever so nicely, and she responded in kind with her Galettes au Roquefort, which, being the cook that I am, I decided to add a few tweaks here and there. Be warned, this recipe makes quite a few if you keep them small and cook quickly.

What you’ll need:

  • Blue Cheese – 2 cups
  • Butter – 1 stick, unsalted, softened
  • Heavy cream – 2 tbsp
  • Eggs – 2, 1 yolk and 1 intact with whites and yolk
  • All purpose flour – 1 1/3 cup, sifted
  • Salt – to taste
  • Paprika – to taste

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 425°F. In a small bowl, Beat 1 egg with 1 tbsp. water and set egg wash aside.
  2. Mash the cheese in the bowl with a fork.  Beat in the butter, cream, and egg yolk into the cheese mash.
  3. Once step 2 is completed, add the flour to the wet mixture. Knead together until you’re able to form into a ball. Wrap the ball in wax paper, and refrigerate until firm. 
  4. Remove the ball from the fridge and using a rolling pin – roll out 1/4-inch thick.
  5. Cut into 1 inch rounds, brush the tops with the egg wash, and bake until the galettes have puffed and browned lightly, 7 to 10 minutes. 
  6. Cool them on a rack and serve either solo or with strawberry jam.
Leave a Reply

