Shirred Eggs with Cream

Shirred Eggs with Cream

I have a bit of a history of mispronunciation of words I’ve read but haven’t heard spoken. Usually I take the approach of just trying to sound it out and hoping for the best. This approach works most of the time in English, but not necessarily in other languages. Within my circle of friends I have an incredibly embarrassing, and frequently recounted story about the first time I served about crudités. Yes… I went on for far too long saying “crude-ites.” Oh the shame!!

That said, the first time I made this dish I called my gramma Ginger to talk about holiday plans, and she asked what I was doing. To which I said, “making shirred eggs” – as in “Shirley,” and she repeated back to me “shire-ed eggs?” pronounced like “Shire.” Y’know, like where Frodo comes from.

My gramma has a pretty non-regional accent, so I’m hesitant to write this off as a southern accent misunderstood through years of listening with northern Yankee ears. However, when I ran this by my friends, they were not able to conclusively give feedback one way or the other. Now, this might be due to the fact that it’s a kind of an unknown dish in my group, or it might be because nobody knows. I’m open to any definitive answers, if anyone happens to know?

Regardless of how it sounds coming out of my mouth, these taste pretty amazing going in, and because they’re so easy they might replace poe-actch-ed eggs on Sunday mornings.

Shirred Eggs with Cream

What You’ll Need:

  • Eggs – one for each person you’re serving
  • Butter – enough to grease a ramekin
  • Heavy cream – 1 tbsp. for each ramekin
  • Breadcrumbs – 1 tsp. for each ramekin
  • Pepper – to taste
  • Salt – to taste

Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 375, and generously butter an ovensafe ramekin all along the bottom and sides.
  2. Place the cream in the bottom of the ramekin and crack the egg over top of the cream.
  3. Sprinkle the top with breadcrumbs and salt.
  4. Place in the oven and bake for 10-12 minutes for desired runniness.
  5. Word of advice, allow the ramekin to cool for about 1 minute before you eat so you don’t burn yourself.
5 thoughts on “Shirred Eggs with Cream

  1. Hmm, I don’t know how to pronounce ‘shirred’, though I would have said it how you did too!

    You made me realize I have no idea how to pronounce ‘crudités’ – I’ve been saying it ‘crude-ites’ all this time! How DO you say it?

Leave a Reply

