Blueberry Crumb Cake

Blueberry Crumb Cake

Every year, Davis and I try to take a trip on our anniversary. I’m not talking a big European vacation or anything, but we try to do something special and spend a few days out of the city. A few years ago, Davis and I took our anniversary trip on a road trip to Burlington, Vermont and Montreal.

We found an amazing bed and breakfast outside of Burlington that had beautiful grounds, with what felt like acres of beautifully designed and cared-for gardens. It was a place of what felt like eternal growth and abundance. Not only were the location and grounds absolutely perfect, we were greeted by our incredibly gracious hosts and their silly sweet dogs. Time stood still for a little bit and you felt like summer wouldn’t end.

Our second day there, we were served the worlds most amazing crumb cake. I would not exaggerate on crumb cake, but my oh my. As I couldn’t stop raving about it, our host actually pulled down the cookbook she got the recipe from and gave me a photocopy. I’ve carried that copy around in my recipe box ever since. I’ve changed it just a bit to make it my own, and although I think it’s second to none in its simplicity and flavor – it doesn’t quite live up to my memory of the first bite.

Blueberry Crumb Cake

What you’ll need:

 Cake

  • Sugar – 3/4 cup
  • Egg – 1
  • Vegetable Oil – 1/4 cup
  • Milk – 1/2 cup
  • Flour – 2 cups, sifted
  • Baking Soda – 2 tsps.
  • Salt – 1/2 tsp.
  • Lemon juice – 2 tbsp, freshly squeezed
  • Blueberries – 2 cups

Crumb topping

  • Sugar – 1/2 cup
  • Flour – 1/2 cup
  • Butter – 1/4 cup, softened

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 and grease a 9×9 cake pan.
  2. In a large bowl, combine the sugar, egg, and oil. Mix well using a rubber spatula.
  3. In another bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, and salt.
  4. To the sugar mixture you will add the milk and sifted dry ingredients. Last but not least, add the lemon juice and the blueberries. Gently fold everything together until the blueberries are evenly distributed thorough the batter. If the batter seems dry, add a bit more milk.
  5. Spread the batter into the greased cake pan. Over the top of the batter you will drizzle the crumb topping.
  6. Bake for 40-45 minutes, until a knife sliced into the middle comes out clean.

This cake freezes well, so it can be kept for a while ahead of time and re-heated before serving.

Blueberry Crumb Cake

3 thoughts on “Blueberry Crumb Cake

  1. Mmmmm………..I think I’ll have to add this to my recipe box too! 🙂 It looks amazing, great photos by the way! Thanks for sharing x
    P.S I ♥ you plates, they are so cute x

Leave a Reply

