Apple Ginger Muffins

Apple Ginger Muffins

I do not get full-blown sick very often, usually around once a year or so. Since I’m not a huge fan of taking medication, I try to beat any oncoming illness, the way my gramma would; as soon as I get the telltale sneeze, cough, or sniffle, I hit the hay earlier than usual and try to drown it in fluids. Broth, OJ, tea, water – the works – and before you know it, the impending sickness seems to go away before it hits full force. Unfortunately, our schedule lately hasn’t really allowed for any such nursing, so here I am on the couch with a blanket, thick socks and chamomile. My record 2 year healthiness streak is shattered.

Luckily for me, I had made muffins for breakfast this week and therefore, don’t have to make anything for breakfast/lunch and we don’t have to order in or leave the house. Huzzah! Double luckily, they’re freaking delicious. Hopefully after a big broth dinner, I think I might just be able to turn the curve on this thing.

Apple Ginger Muffins

What you’ll need:

  • Sugar – 1 cup
  • Vegetable Oil – 1/2 cup
  • Eggs – 2
  • All Purpose Flour – 1.5 cups
  • Salt – 1/2 tsp.
  • Baking Soda – 1/2 tsp.
  • Cinnamon – 1/2 tsp.
  • Apples – 1 cup, peeled, chopped
  • Ginger Root – 1/4 cup, peeled, chopped
  • Nuts – 1/4 cup, roughly chopped (I used a pecan/pistachio mix)

Apple Ginger Muffins

  1. Grease a 6 muffin tin and preheat the oven to 325.
  2. In a large bowl you will mix together the: sugar, oil and eggs.
  3. In a separate bowl you will combine the flour, salt, baking soda and cinnamon.
  4. Sift the dry ingredients into the bowl with the sugar mixture. Add the apples, ginger, and nuts to the bowl and mix until well incorporated. Smooth, without lumps in the batter,
  5. Pour batter 3/4 full in each muffin tin. Bake for 40-45 minutes and do the clean test to ensure they’re fully cooked.

* If you want, add a pat of butter to the top of the muffin and enjoy.

4 thoughts on “Apple Ginger Muffins

  1. Delicious! Thank you, I just made them and although I accident,y used baking powder instead of soda and omitted the nuts these muffins are just awesome!

Leave a Reply

