Spiced Brussels Sprouts with Walnuts & Goat Cheese

IMG_0908

Today was a day that just felt long. Nothing particularly interesting or noteworthy happened, it was not even particularly stressful, just long for a reason of undeterminable origin. The only reason I could come up with was that I didn’t eat breakfast this morning, and by the time I got home I was ravenous. I’d eaten a large salad for lunch, snacked on a couple pieces of babybel cheese, and even threw in a banana to try and quench the hunger. Nothing was working.

Then I keyed on to something I had heard earlier in the day – use vegetables for volume. I had already planned on eating poached chicken with roasted zucchini and tomatoes, but fearing I would decide after dinner to add in some needless carbs, I thought it best to add in another veggie instead. (Tennessee being a land of meat and threes – this was really quite a logical leap for me.) I’d had this side in mind for a while and thought it a perfect night to execute and sure enough I can say in full confidence, I am finally full.

IMG_0917

What you’ll need:

  • Brussels Sprouts – 1 lb.
  • Walnuts – 1/2 cup.
  • Goat Cheese – 2 tbsp. crumbled
  • Cinnamon – 1 tbsp.
  • Chili Powder – 1 tbsp.
  • Olive Oil – 1/2 tbsp.
  • Water – 3 tbsp.

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees and add water to the bottom of a medium sized casserole pan.
  2. In the pan add brussel sprouts and walnuts in a single layer. Top with goat cheese, walnuts, cinnamon and chili powder.
  3. Drizzle olive oil over top of the sprouts and toss to coat.
  4. Cover with aluminum foil and bake for 30 minutes until brussels are tender throughout.
Leave a Reply

