Potato and Bread Salad with Sautéed Vegetables

IMG_0899

A few weeks ago, I could have sworn that I had invented the idea of using bread as a base for a salad. Cube up some white bread, drizzle with a little olive oil, toast those suckers in the oven until just quite crouton territory, and then mix in some roasted tomatoes and BAM – you’re transported into summer on the coast. Little did I know the Tuscans figured that one out just a wee bit before my time.

For this particular salad, I decided it needed something to make it a bit more filling, so I thought adding in the potatoes would suit up just fine. I will say that this is something I came up with when I obviously needed some carbohydrates in my life. Now if only I could come up with a way to add some meat between two slices of bread, what would I call it?

IMG_0895

What you’ll need:

  • Good White Bread – 2 slices, cubed
  • Red Potatoes – 8 small, quartered
  • Red Pepper – 1 medium, seeded and sliced
  • Spinach – 1 cup
  • Olive Oil – 3 tbsp.
  • Goat Cheese – 2 tbsp., crumbled
  • Salt – to taste
  • Pepper – to taste

Directions

  1. In a pot over medium high heat, add your olive oil. Once oil is hot, add your potatoes, salt, pepper and cook for 10 minutes.
  2. Once potatoes are a bit brown on the outside, add the bread cubes and toss in with potatoes so that it’s coated with the left over oil. Cook for an additional 10 minutes.
  3. Add your red pepper and toss again. Cook for 5 minutes
  4. Add your spinach and use your tossing skills. Cook for 5 more minutes.
  5. Turn off the heat. The goat cheese is the last thing to be tossed around in the pan.  Serve warm.
One thought on “Potato and Bread Salad with Sautéed Vegetables

Leave a Reply

