Grilled Asparagus with Creamy Scallion Dressing

Grilled Asparagus with Creamy Scallion Dressing

A few weeks ago, I went home for a last minute trip back home to Tennessee. The timing was just right, and I was overdue for a visit: my grandmother had open-heart surgery recently and was recuperating. I also wanted to spend some time with my niece and nephew before they moved back to North Carolina. Luckily I was able to find a reasonable fare, and I bought a ticket with 2 days notice to make my way back south.

Let me just say that my niece and nephew are 1 and 3 years old, and after three days with them my appreciation and respect for my sister-in-law went through the roof. Being home all day with those two requires an energy level that I just didn’t know possible. If I could figure out a way to bottle those kids’ energy and sell it, I could quit my day job.

It goes without saying that they’re absolutely adorable; they just happen to also be ornery little monsters. I was relieved to see that my grandmother is spunkier than ever and made sure to provide large spreads for us each day. Even though we beg and plead for her to let us help, she refuses and goes about her way making salads, sandwiches and corned beef – plying the wee ones with popsicles and conveniently hearing “sure, one more slice” when offering pie.

In addition to the food and baby time, I got to spend time with my dad and brother doing one of our favorite family activities: watching horrible action movies. My brother and I spent most of the evening trying to convince my dad to watch a good action movie and take him to see Pacific Rim. We were not so successful on that front, but it was a delightful visit, nonetheless.

Grilled Asparagus with Creamy Scallion Dressing

What you’ll need:

  • Scallions – 1 bunch
  • Sour Cream – 3 tbsp.
  • Rice Vinegar – 1 tsp.
  • Lemon Juice – 1 tsp.
  • Olive Oil – a drizzle
  • Salt – to taste
  • Fresh Asparagus Spears – as many as you want
  • Almond Slices – for garnish (optional)

Directions:

  1. Combine the first 6 ingredients in a blender and lightly puree until everything is well mixed. Mixture should be creamy and slightly runny.
  2. Remove the woody ends of the asparagus and heat olive oil over medium heat in a pan. Sautee the asparagus until done (firm to the fork but able to be able to pierced all the way through).
  3. Plate the asparagus and drizzle with dressing. Top with almond slices and enjoy warm.

(adapted from Martha Stewart)

Leave a Reply

